Thing 7 – Podcasts

Okay, so for the last couple of years friends have been encouraging me to listen to podcasts. I was 100% fully sure that they weren’t my thing. Then yesterday I gave Serial a go and I have to be honest I listened to more episodes in one day than I’m proud to admit to. So Serial is probably one of the most popular podcasts ever and a great starter podcast but not perhaps indicative of what other podcasts will be like so has it encouraged me to listen to more? The short answer is ‘Yes, absolutely!’

It’s funny how we can convince ourselves that something isn’t our cup of tea without really trying it. I guess my stubborn personality has a lot to do with it – so many people told me to listen that I dug my heels in and decided I wanted to be a bit different I guess. Silly I know but obviously I’m only realising this about myself now that I’m forced to reflect – something to work on.

I really enjoyed Serial, the reporter is very engaging and the story itself is fascinating. I’m not sure if I’ll enjoy other podcasts as much but it has finally made me open to the idea of podcasts as a form of entertainment. I enjoyed the fact that I could listen while pottering around my apartment getting bits and pieces done. I can now see myself heading out for a long walk with a podcast for company. I’ll never be one of these people that can listen on the tube in the morning, as with reading I tend to get immersed and hate having to stop at a specific time – what if I get to a really good part? I have no self-control when it comes to these things, clearly given my earlier admission I’m a binger.

I’m looking forward to trying out some of the other podcasts on the Rudai list and I have a friend who is going to send me a list so I’ll be kept busy. I’m interested to see if I’ll enjoy any of the library-related podcasts.

As far as making my own? I don’t think so, at least not yet. However, I work with heritage collections and I can actually see how podcasts would be useful in telling tales from history, or medical history to be precise. We do use a blog but some of the stories are so fascinating and a short blog post can’t do them justice, perhaps a podcast would be the perfect forum.

By David Fuchs (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Leave a Reply

