Woo-hoo for Wednesday!

Yesterday we had our big table-quiz night. There wasn’t a huge turn out but I have to say I think everyone that did turn up had a great time! I was able to enjoy myself because I had submitted the big Qualitative Assignment due today and although there was some nerves, (and a bit of a pain in my stomach pressing the submit button) it was a great feeling to have it done. I was really happy with the rounds, there was a lot of laughter and all-in-all I think it was a great culmination of our hard work. Next week some of us are visiting Marsh’s Library as an InfoSoc outing so hopefully that will be just as successful. A lot of people in my class are on mid-term now but I still have two more modules today and Friday. The way my timetable works out I have a class everyday but I’m over halfway there and I really enjoy the next two modules so I don’t mind seeing people on their holidays already. (Well, I don’t mind too much!)

Yesterday we had A LOT of cataloging to take in but it was all really interesting so it wasn’t so bad. The first hour was RDA and subject terms. The next two hours we had some guest lectures talking about cataloging music, rare books and digital images. My favourite of these three was rare books and it comes at a very good time with the Marsh’s trip next week. Its very unfortunate (for me at least) that the course doesn’t incorporate a rare books module anymore. I know that technology is really important and all that but at the end of the day there’s always going to be need to catalogue and preserve rare books. At least I sincerely hope there will always be a need for it.

We were shown this YouTube video to illustrate the different vocabulary used in rare books.

I didn’t get into library studies particularly because of my love of books but I guess it doesn’t hurt. I’ve loved books forever and one of my favourite things is that old book smell. It’s a total comfort thing for me. In fact I have a perfume by In the Library perfume from CB I Hate Perfume.

1312

Described as “a warm blend of English Novel*, Russian & Moroccan Leather Bindings, Worn Cloth and a hint of Wood Polish.” What’s not to love! I find rare books beautiful and fascinating. I know there are some courses in the UK that deal with rare books and I would definitely consider doing one at some stage but we’ll have to see where this takes me first.

After that we got a chance to play with OCLC Connexion, which is always fun. We have a big cataloging assignment due next week.

Today I’ve taken a bit of a rest this morning but now I need to figure out a way to help some of my classmates with WordPress. They’re having problems with the whole pages v. categories in menus thing. I think I’m going to do up some diagrams to help them out. I actually looking forward to today’s class too because I’ll be getting some feedback on my blog. I hope the class and my lecturer like it!
Kind-of sad that #HLSDITL is nearing an end but I got a lot from the week so far and I’ve really enjoyed it. Blogging is a bit therapeutic especially when you can see there are others facing the same stresses and worries.

Oh, and Happy Book Day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

