A…maybe not so typical…Tuesday

I knew this year was going to be hard work; I had done my research and I was ready. However, despite having full-time jobs and already completing an MA, I guess I didn’t really know what hard work was before because this year has been an eye-opener and very tough going. You’d think this would be a negative thing but actually this has also probably been the best year of my life so far. I’m doing what I was made to do as far as I’m concerned. I’m on the road to my dream job and if that means working hard then to be perfectly honest I’m 100% okay with it. I’m learning every single day and I’m loving every minute.

Today has been one of those of those particularly tough days. This week we have to hand up an assignment that involved us interviewing people about their mobile use and observing mobile phone use in pubs. We had to transcribe the interviews and write up the field notes and everything needs to be submitted in a certain way so it’s been a little stressful trying to make sure everything is in order. I spent the first few hours this morning working on that, it still needs a little work but I’m not so worried now.

At 3 o’clock I had to be in college for a meeting with other members of the InfoSoc, an alternative society, for us SILS crowd. Although I have a lot going on I have decided to become a member of InfoSoc because I think it’s good to have some sort of work-life balance. Of course, it actually means more work for me but it also means a bit of fun for me along with everyone else and it’s a chance to get to know my classmates better. Also, some students have nominated me for a President’s Award for my work and I am very grateful to have something like this to add to my CV because I was too shy to put myself out there in this way the last time I was in college. Tomorrow we’re hosting a Table Quiz in SILS and I think it’s going to be a great way for us to relax a little after such a busy start to the week. I can’t tell you about the questions just yet but suffice to say there are some library related bits and pieces thrown in.

From 4 to 6 I had a lecture for my Research Methods module. This is the module where we learn all about qualitative and quantitative research. Although this module is really important for Capstone, and especially for me in my role as a Research Assistant, it is always a difficult two hours to get through. I haven’t done Maths since secondary school and while I’m lucky enough to understand everything we are doing, it can be a lot to take in when we’re focusing on statistics and it is definitely not one of my favourite subjects. However, I do get a bit of a kick out of the fact that I know that my secondary school Maths teacher would be very proud that I understand all this stuff and to be perfectly honest SPSS really isn’t the worst thing in the world.

After college I had to go get some prizes for the quiz. I’m home since about 8, my laptop has been out since; I’m working on stuff for the assignment, answering emails and Facebook messages, and having a look at various WordPress sites. It’s 20 past 9 now and I’m just about to have dinner. Exhausted but like I said I love every minute so I’ll be up and ready for another day bright and early in the morning. Might take the rest of tonight off now and watch an hour of TV. Tomorrow’s another long day.

2 thoughts on “A…maybe not so typical…Tuesday

Leave a Reply

